My Freedom 



Some Times : By Santosh Bhatt

(You can’t handle it even now) How do you know ? 


If only I was so fortunate. LOL. In theory I agree 100% with “Your freedom ends where it starts affecting mine”. 


In reality, ‘affect’ is often interpretive rather than absolute/concrete. We then get lawyers involved. 🙂 


An example of the issue, by way of an anecdote not related to our topic:


After a successful week cutting a real estate deal, a Muslim friend and I were ready for lunch on a Friday.  


Aware that I am an agnostic (for decades), he asked me not to have any fire water with lunch in his presence. 


Amused, I asked him to show me how my freedom to consume it could possibly impact his freedom to drink non-fiery liquids. 


He was unable to do so. 


I ordered Fire Drink. 


In a Muslim-majority country where moral bullies abound, I might not have been so free. 


I ran companies in the world, when I helped settle allegations of ‘sexism’ every now & then. 


More often than not the allegation was interpretive, with no clear answer. 


As a US citizen I endorse the Constitution. 


Hence I endorse free speech. 


I may consider some speech unacceptable. 


But I shall also defend others right to speak freely. 


If indeed my freedom was to be left at the mercy of someone’s interpretive ‘offense’, it would be equal to no freedom. 


I just avoid people whose notions of social decency I disagree with.

Leave a Reply

